Song of the Week – Tilted

Christine and the Queens – Tilted

I recently discovered French act Christine and the Queens when I was doing some Glastonbury stalking and wallowing in sadness that I wasn’t there. As bad as the FOMO gets, checking out live videos of artists at Glastonbury is one of the best ways to discover new musicians and I’m so grateful I stumbled across this one.

Tilted is the catchiest track I’ve heard all year. It’s got all my favourite components of a hit song – a rad beat, beautiful vocals, quirky lyrics and one hell of a build up. It’s hard to sit still in this song, it just makes you want to sing and dance!

Christine and the Queens is the brainchild of singer Héloïse Letissier, she sings in a mixture of English and French in Tilted and it has a stunning effect. I love trying to sing along to the beautiful French language and her accent sounds beautiful. Once you watch the video above you’ll quickly realise there’s more to her art than just music, Letissier is a magnificent dancer and artist – the choreography and staging in her performances is epic and adds so much to her music.

Have a listen, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

 

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

