Song of the Week – Life Gives You Lemons

Life Gives You Lemons – Citizen Kay

I’ve discovered this awesome Australian hip hop artist Citizen Kay and listening to his music has made me immensely happy over the last few  weeks. Life Gives You Lemons is from his debut album With The People which dropped in October.

This energetic jam has everything you want in a rap song. It reminds me a bit of Jurassic 5 and Arrested Development – it’s upbeat and catchy as hell.

For a start, the saxophone hook that plays throughout it one of the funkiest sounds I’ve heard as of late. Immediately the song is off on a bouncy and energetic track, add into that the fast-moving smart wordplay of Citizen Kay and it immediately makes you want to groove and singalong.

The Ghana-born and Canberra based MC has a good ear, Life Gives You Lemons is cleverly layered with an array of beats and various instrument melodies. I read that it’s about “being a minority but still growing up with the Aussie culture of seemingly never being phased about anything.” I like that philosophy.

Pretty neat track right here, check it out.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

