Song of the Week – Somebody Else

Somebody Else – The 1975

The 1975 are back with a new album and it’s banging! I like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It is a more developed sound for the British band who hit the big time quickly with their 2013 self-titled debut album. The complicated name already hints they’ve taken on something a bit more complex than their earlier work and that’s exactly what they’ve done.

My favourite number off the new album is Somebody Else. It’s a punchy electro-pop hit. With heavy synths, 80s dance floor drumbeats and lead vocalist Matthew Healey’s signature falsetto voice it’s got all the elements to be a pop hit. But there’s more to this song than many of the tracks we tragically hear dominating the airwaves today. The 1975 know how to layer sound, they know the power of building to a crescendo in the chorus, they know how to write lyrics that everyone relates to and they know how to hook you in.

But most importantly, they know how to sound unique. There’s nothing else out there right now that sounds like The 1975. They are individual and that alone makes them a band worth listening to.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

