Song of the Week -River by Leon Bridges

Before you read any further, hit play, turn this up really loud, close your eyes and listen.

Leon Bridges is this years king of soul music and this song is the ultimate ballad to lose yourself in.

River is immediately captivating. Right from the first line you get the feeling this is building to something big as Bridges voice dominates over a gentle tambourine beat and gentle guitar strum. This quiet backing doesn’t change and it doesn’t need to because Bridges vocals carry the song and they need no help in this modern take on gospel music.

It’s not long before the first chills down your spine surface as he is backed by a choir which gives extra oomph to the track. The song got an incredible power in its lyrics and the way it’s performed.

“In my darkness I remember
Momma’s words reoccur to me
Surrender to the good Lord
And he’ll wipe your slate clean”

Leon Bridges is a soul singer from Fort Worth, Texas and he’s had a great year with his debut studio album Coming Home. The title track was made famous by a widespread Apple television advertisement and he’s quickly picked up a loyal following. This is an album worth spending some time with and River is the ultimate closing song.

For any interested Aucklanders – Leon Bridges plays the St James Theatre on January 9th. Get along, I would if I could!

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

