Song of the Week – Anna

Song of the Week – Anna by Will Butler

Will Butler, one of the many geniuses behind Arcade Fire, has released his first solo album Policy. It’s all pretty impressive stuff but the second released single Anna, is just superb. To me, it’s the catchiest song of the year.

It may be a simple track lyrically but that is more than made up for by it’s energy. The song bumps and bounces along in such a fashion it’s impossible not to shimmy along with it as you listen. In fact, I’ve just realised my typing has even synced into a tapping pattern as I listen and write.

Arcade Fire is famous for its longer songs which build with emphasis as they roll along, but Will Butler’s solo work takes the short and sharp approach and it’s just as effective. Anna doesn’t mess around, right from the get go there’s a strong drum beat, a funky synth rhythm and repetitive vocals and these don’t let up throughout the song. Butlers falsetto’s at the start of the chorus are such an enthralling contrast to his lower tone as he echoes the last word of the line “cause you got to get money”.

This song is contagious, refreshingly unique and happy. I just love everything about it!

If you are a fan do have a decent listen to Policy. It is a fantastic album with a lot of light and shade. Butler teamed up with The Guardian newspaper and wrote five of the songs on it around news headlines. This makes for fascinating listening as he portrays his take on ISIS, the Greek economy, black holes and more. At an Arcade Fire concert Will Butler always stands out on stage, which is credit to him given how entertaining all of the band members are. I’m thrilled to be able to explore his own talents in this solo album.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

