Song of the Week – Mountain At My Gates

Mountain At My Gates – Foals

Listen up Foals fans! A taste of material from their soon to be released album What Went Down is out and these guys are still killing it.

Mountain At My Gates is everything you’d expect in a song from these indie rockers. It picks up exactly where their last album Holy Fire left off and within seconds you’re caught up in their distinctive sound. It features a must-have catchy guitar riff and bouncy drum beat which gel with each other in a funky and upbeat manner.

Yannis Philippakis’ vocals are as other-wordly as ever. He subtly builds the tempo in the track lifting his voice from a gentle croon in the verses into a rockers growl in the choruses and a chilling screech at the end of the track where it erupts into a wall of noise. This kind of climactic finish is what I’ve come to expect in their big tracks like Spanish Sahara and Inhaler and this new release reflects the style perfectly.

Can’t wait to check out the full album. Hopefully this new material means we might get a chance to see the brilliant live act in NZ again soon. I have a feeling this song will be a ripper in concert.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

