Song of the Week – Give Up Your Dreams

Give Up Your Dreams – The Phoenix Foundation

The Phoenix Foundation have released the title track from their forthcoming album Give Up Your Dreams and it’s one hell of a jam.

This song is one great contradiction. It is incredibly upbeat and makes you want to jump out of your seat and dance like it’s the 60s all over again. But take a quick listen to the lyrics, or just read the song title for that matter, and the message it sends isn’t quite as perky as you’d expect. I love that this song makes no sense, but at the same time, speaks to you. It’s a clever little track to mess with your mind and I can’t get enough of it.

My favourite bit is when an ethereal sounding voice booms across the bridge telling us:

“Don’t let anyone tell you that all your dreams will come true, don’t let anyone say that the world is your oyster, the world is not an oyster.”

To sum it up perfectly Samuel Flynn Scott says of the song: I’m screaming ‘I’m a loser and I’m losing my belief’ but the pitch shifted wiser version of myself assures me ‘you’re not a loser, you’re a human…and I love you’. It also has the sort of groove you’d be happy to motivation gym class to, so that’s a great contrast with the message. Ultimately it’s a really positive and uplifting song….The track is like the insane smile on the faces of beauty pageant contestants… Keep smiling keep smiling!”

The album Give Up Your Dreams is released on August 7.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

