Song of the Week – Make It Holy

Make It Holy – The Staves featuring Justin Vernon

I stumbled across The Staves last week while pining to be at Glastonbury and I haven’t been able to stop playing their song Make It Holy ever since. What a magic track. It evokes a real emotion in me as it twists and builds.

It’s been a while since I’ve heard a track with such chilling harmonies but this English accoustic folk trio made up of sisters Emily, Jessica and Camilla Staveley-Taylor, know their strengths and compliment each other superbly.

The album Make It Holy features on was produced by Justin Vernon and he accompanies them in this track. His chilling voice shines through as a softer undertone on the big lines and gives the song an extra layer that other songs on the album don’t have. It would be brilliant with just the Staveley-Taylor sisters but when Justin Vernon’s unique grunt is added it has the x-factor. This track is impossible not to love.

Have a few listens and I recommend buying their album If I Was – there’s a lot more where this came from.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

One thought on “Song of the Week – Make It Holy”

Leave a Reply

