Song of the Week – Dream A Little Crazy

Dream A Little Crazy – Architecture in Helsinki

There’s something contagious about this song, it is a happiness serum. As soon as I hit the play button I get a bit giddy and can’t resist the urge to clap my hands in a merry fashion.

I stumbled across this track on a random Spotify playlist named “Feel Good Indie Rock” and it fits the bill perfectly. Dream A Little Crazy is off Australian indie pop band Architecture in Helsinki’s 2014 album Now + 4EVA. 

The energy that resonates from the song all makes sense when you read how the band put this record together. They recorded it in 2012, in a makeshift studio above a Melbourne cafe and get this – the space used to be a hangout for junkies. The Architecture in Helsinki guys wanted to transform the places energy from negative to positive with their music. After listening to this song, I am certain they lead a complete transformation.

Dream A Little Crazy features uplifting lyrics (see song title for an obvious example), high pitched instruments played in a fun-loving melody and contagious choir like vocals on top of a bouncy beat. All of these elements are tied together with a wonderful 80s influence, it’s an adventure to listen to! I also love how refreshingly Aussie the singers sound, there’s no disguising that twangy accent and it’s brilliant.

It’s a song I’m happy I stumbled upon because I know it’ll always put a smile on my dial when I play it.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

