Song of the Week – Don’t Wanna Fight

download

Don’t Wanna Fight – Alabama Shakes

Take a funky bass melody, solid drumbeats, jarring electric guitar riffs and a powerhouse voice like nothing you’ve heard for 20 years and you get Alabama Shakes new track Don’t Wanna Fight.

This American rock band formed in, you guessed it- Alabama – are a band you should know if you don’t already. They burst onto the scene in 2012 with their superb first single Hold On. They carved up at the 2013 Grammy’s with their debut album Boys & Girls, taking home Best New Artist, Best Rock Performance and Best Recording Package.

Ever since then I’ve been patiently waiting for the next installment and now I’ve been given a small taste in Don’t Wanna Fight and I just want more!

This song has elements of The Black Keys work. Don’t Wanna Fight shares that similar sound like it’s been recorded during a jam session in the basement. It’s slightly more commercial than their previous offerings but that is working in their favour here. The song is catchy and will appeal to a wide audience while still maintaining the fresh and unique sound heard on their first album.

It’s been said time and time again that lead singer Brittany Howard sounds like Janis Joplin but I disagree. She’s better. Her soulful yet somewhat grungy voice is glorious. It’s too hard to explain so you all just need to have a listen.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

