Song of the Week – Greek Tragedy

The Wombats - Glitterbug Album Cover
The Wombats – Glitterbug Album Cover

The Wombats dropped the second track off their new album last week and I have been absolutely cranking it since. Greek Tragedy is electric. It’s quintessential Wombats. Like every other song they’ve ever written, when you play it you will find it impossible not to groove while listening. In the last five days listening to Greek Tragedy has seen me pull off an impressively subtle set of head banging in the car at the traffic lights, have a full on one-person dance party in my bedroom and instill fear in my boyfriend as he figured out this will be the song I play non-stop for the next few weeks while exclaiming ‘this is my jam!’

One thing that is obvious in this song is that the Brit rockers have grown up a bit. Matthew Murphy’s vocals aren’t shouted as much as in other hits and that’s a welcome change. There’s more to his voice than you would’ve realized in their previous two albums This Modern Glitch and A Guide to Love, Loss and Desperation. The whole noise of the band is now more mature, slowed down and produced with that modern electronica sound we’re hearing across all good indie acts today. It’s a fun, summer track that’s well worth a listen.

Watch out for the release of the full album Glitterbug which is expected April 6th.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

