Song of the Week – Nara

alt-J
alt-J

alt-J – Nara

It’s been a slow process but after about a month of listening to alt-J’s latest album This Is All Yours I’ve finally cracked it. This album is worth the labour of love it’s taken me to get to know each song inside and out, it’s got a lot more depth than the groups first album An Awesome Wave. Each song has so many more elements to it and takes on a new life when you blast it as loud as your car stereo will let you.

All of the tracks have their own bits of magic but the one that’s standing out for my most is Nara.

It brings together a church theme, with ringing bells and lyrics like “hallelujah” with the grungy synth sound we’ve come to love so much from alt-J. Add into the mix the English lads haunting harmonies and it’s a stunning combination. It’s all brought together beautifully with use of light and shade. The tempo picks up only to drop while the sound plummets up and down. It’s a chilling effect.

I can’t wait to finally see these guys own the stage at Falls Festival in Byron Bay this new year. This song will make the audience go crazy I feel absolutely certain of it. Bring it on.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MtmrYisoxXA

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

