Song of the week – The Way We Do It by Jurassic 5

Image

The Way We Do It – Jurassic 5

What. A. Comeback.

The Jurassic 5 boys know how to take a tune and mix it with some brilliant bouncy rap better than anyone and they’ve done it again with new track The Way We Do It.

The hip hop collective, big in the 90s, reunited last year to the pleasure of many. They reclaimed their former glory on the stage at Coachella and are set to conquer the UK this year at Glastonbury.

I didn’t think it’d get much better than that. But then today, out came a new track from the group. I clicked play on the song with some hesitation – terrified this wasn’t going to be anywhere near as good as their old stuff. But I was one very happy gal. What a tune! Now I feel comfortable their Glastonbury set won’t be an awkward run of new songs nobody knows and doesn’t really enjoy, even if they play all new tunes – if they’re anything like The Way We Do It – that’ll be one happy audience.

The song, their first in eight years, has The White Stripes song My Doorbell as the underlying track. What a choice! The 2005 rock hit was a personal favourite of mine. It has a classic solid beat and Jack White’s unique quirky voice. When mixed up by producer Heavy D in this new J5 track the tempo is sped up, helping the drum beat to create that classic upbeat rhythm the groups rap tracks are recognised for. Add in a steady piano melody, the wondrous mixture of sounds portrayed by Jurassic 5’s MCs and a repetitive Jack White vocal sample and this song is evidence the ‘way they do it’ is a winning formula each and every time.

The J5 boys, Chali 2na, Akil, Zaakir, Mark 7even, DJ Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist, are right at the top of my list of acts I can’t wait to see at Glastonbury 2014 and this song just pushed them up even further. I can’t wait for the next installment.

Anyone else predicting a Jack White cameo during the Glastonbury set? Fingers crossed!

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

