Song of the Week – Fever

Fever – The Black Keys

The Black Keys are back, and back with a vengeance. The rock duo from Ohio have just released their new album Turn Blue and so far the samples are as good as one could have hoped for. Off the back of El Camino, I had very high expectations. These boys know how to write fantastic rock music and they know how to change it up with each new album. But of course when a band doesn’t stick to what it knows works best there are always risks in releasing new music. I’m pleased to say the risk has paid off, this is a stellar album and the first release from it, Fever, gets things off to a roaring start.

I found a vid of the Black Keys performing this new track live on Later with Jools Holland and I haven’t been able to stop watching the clip all week. 

The song has the classics of a good Black Keys song, a grungy electric guitar melody, thrashing drums and groovy crooning. The element of difference shines through in the keyboard melody which repeats throughout the song. It’s a new sound for the duo, but it works perfectly with their alternative take on rock. Not only that, but the wonderful bass line holds the song together magically. There’s something about this band and the way every song carries such an effective beat beneath the melody. Fever is perfect in this sense also.

The bridge of the song is a nod-your-head-in-pleasure section of the tune, it slows up the track and gets the listener ready for the climax which is brought on with a fantastic change to the bopping keyboard melody. It’s a brilliant effect and I feel it’s a pretty fail-proof song for the Black Keys.

I can’t wait to see this new album brought to life on the Glastonbury stage. 

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

