Song of the Week – Further Away

Further Away – Ben Howard

Image

The news I’ve been waiting for for oh so long came through today. Ben Howard is coming to New Zealand to play one Auckland concert in August off the back of an appearance at Splendour in the Grass. I thought since my excitement is immense that it was only fitting to make this weeks song of the week my favourite track by the talented Brit.

Ben Howard is a self-made musical genius. His mind-blowing guitar playing, his sultry voice and his delicate song writing are a dream combination. Each and every one of his songs has its unique qualities while remaining distinctly Ben Howard.

Further Away is a magical soft acoustic tune which showcases Howard’s brilliance on the guitar and reinforces his power as a performer who isn’t reliant on a strong backing band but instead is pure, raw talent. It has one of the best guitar riffs I’ve ever heard. It brings an element to the song you never quite saw coming.

Howard’s voice is perfect in its gentleness. It’s not a roaring powerhouse voice but that is in no way a weakness. He uses it the best way possible with soft, low pitch melodys and gentle falsettos.

It’s rare to find an artist these days who can produce such light and shade in their music with what seems like such little effort. I admire this man and can’t wait to see him live in concert and highly recommend you listen carefully to his work and try and get tickets too, (as long as you don’t beat me to them), as this isn’t a gig to miss.

 

 

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

One thought on “Song of the Week – Further Away”

Leave a Reply

