Song of the Week – Love Like This

Image

Love Like This – Kodaline

It seems I missed the boat a bit on these guys but thanks to a bit of Glastonbury research I’ve discovered the wonderful Irish band Kodaline.

Their music is quality stuff, it’s got a lovely mix of rock and folk sounds, giving it a distinctively Irish element while also incorporating the perfect amount of mainstream sound needed to capture a wide audience.

To me the band has a similar sound to Coldplay and Travis. Much like these two bands traditionally do, Love Like This builds steadily with enthusiasm to a climatic one note finish which I love.

The whistling throughout the song adds a beautiful element and the harmonica – wow! It really is a magnificent instrument and the way it is used in this track is chilling, magical even.

The vocals from Steve Garrigan sound effortless but effective, he has a lovely voice with a great range showcased with beautiful falsettos. Of course he’s helped along with impressive and important backing harmonies from band members Mark Prendergast, Vinny May and Jason Boland. Without their back up the song wouldn’t build in the same way, they really are a vital part of the its success.

I love at the end of the chorus when Garrigan’s Irish accent shines through in the spoken line “I don’t really mind at all”.

It’s so awesome and rare these days to hear a song which works because it’s uses a great combination of instruments, has great lyrics and a lovely melody all put together without the use of too much computerization. Love Like This is a great example of how well a simple song can work.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

