Song of the Week – Concrete Schoolyard

Image

Concrete Schoolyard – Jurassic 5

In recognition of how ecstatic I am that Jurassic 5 will be playing at Glastonbury I figured this weeks Song of the Week simply had to be one of their tunes and there’s no real competition for me when it comes to my favourite song of theirs. Concrete Schoolyard is a timeless song. I can’t remember the last time I made a music playlist that didn’t feature this song on it. It’s just bloody fantastic. Released on the hip-hop groups first album in 1998 this tune was one to catch the attention of global record companies and sparked the beginning of what is one of the best musical groups we’ve ever seen.

These boys know how to rap without hate and that’s what I love most about this song, it is such a fun song to listen to, it always gets people out of their chairs to dance and rap along and it makes people happy (unlike a lot of rap music which is majorly depressing).

“I’m not trying to say my style is better than yours
I’m just on some other shit
I’m all about the beats and the lyrics
So when you hear it you can feel it
The vibe is energized by the presence of my spirit”

I don’t think this song needs much explaining, it just needs listening. So click on the link below and enjoy this awesome song if you don’t already know it, and if you do – crank it up like you used to, and remember how brilliant these boys can be.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

