Song of the Week – The Moon Song

Image

The Moon Song – Karen O and Ezra Koenig

Last week I went to see Spike Jonze’s Her. It was a brilliant movie, full of great acting but perfected with a load of wonderful music.

I was mostly excited because Arcade Fire has written the score. It was beautiful and flowed so perfectly with the story line. But the highlight was to come in a pivotal scene in the film in which The Moon Song came to life.

Firstly what a combination of artists. I saw The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Vampire Weekend play one after the other at Gold Coast Big Day Out in 2013 and both acts blew my mind but never did I imagine the two lead singers would join forces!

I may be surprised but man I’m pleased. Their tones work wonderfully together in this soft but soulful tune. The pairs voices are a wonderful compliment to each other when united. It’s a lovely change to hear the lighter tones in Karen O’s powerhouse rock voice and to hear Ezra Koenig sing at a slower pace with more dulcet tones. (Also a bonus to be able to understand the lyrics he’s singing).

As much as I love each artist in their normal setting, I’m so glad Karen O teamed up with Koenig to make this song what it is.

It’s a lovely piece and I can’t stop listening to it so I recommend you put it on repeat, turn it up loud and settle in to enjoy it in all its glory.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

