Song of the Week – Everyday People

Everyday People – Arrested Development

It’s time for a 90s flashback. On Sunday night I headed along to WOMAD (World of Music, Art and Dance) at New Plymouth’s Bowl of Brooklands. What an event as usual, even a cyclone couldn’t deter the crowds. The biggest of which flocked into the natural amphitheater main stage to check out hip-hoppers Arrested Development.

The old school rappers had people up on their feet dancing and echoing chants within minutes. The energy was electric. They played a perfect mix of new songs and old favourites but it didn’t matter if you knew them or not – the audience was included in every song.

These guys may be a hip-hop group but boy-oh-boy can they sing as well as rap. Lead rapper/singer Speech nailed every note and wowed the audience with a stunning rendition of Bob Marley’s Redemption Song to finish the set. Tasha Larae has a powerhouse voice, she belted out notes that had everyone screaming with excitement because they seemed almost impossible to hit so perfectly. Montsho Eshe made sure there was never a dull moment on stage dancing around like a mad thing the entire performance, I could hardly take my eyes off her she grooved so hard yet she still perfectly delivered every backing vocal.

It was a memorable gig with the obvious highlight being Everyday People. Everyone in the crowd new every word to this song and the singalong reached new heights. What a jam. I can’t get it out of my head so it HAD to be this weeks song of the week. Enjoy.

Published by

Philippa Ormrod

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipsqueaksblog?ref=hl Twitter: @pipormy Instagram: @pipormy I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a Reply

