Pondering Paul McCartney Possibilities

Paul McCartney and John Lennon
Paul McCartney and John Lennon

A big rumour has taken hold in New Zealand and it’s a rumour that has got me indescribably hopeful.

Paul McCartney has signalled he’s looking at playing some songs down under, there’s talk of an Australian tour, and for us Kiwis stuck in the middle of nowhere, each time a big name like this heads to Aus we cross our fingers hoping they might just add an extra date or two here.

As a muso, there are a number of acts I hope to cross off on my list of ‘artists I want to see live’. While this list chops and changes regularly, there has always been a clear number one and there’s no chance of that changing.

I NEED TO SEE PAUL MCCARTNEY LIVE

I feel like he’s written the perfect soundtrack to my life. I connect with each and every song in a special way.

From the ultimate ballad Let It Be which tells a gripping story of love and loss we all know, to Martha My Dear the bouncy track inspired by his relationship with his dog, to the feet-tapping Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da we sang as a family on every road trip, The Long and Winding Road which overwhelms me, bringing tears to my eyes every time, as it builds to a beautiful orchestral climax, and of course Blackbird which gives me inspiration to push through every challenge I face in life.

That of course is only to name a few, each song written by this legend is quite simplistic, especially when compared to most of today’s hits which are a technical feast. But that’s the beauty of Paul McCartney’s music. Every song is timeless, every song will be loved by generation after generation, every song shows off the power of a well-played instrument and the power of well-written lyrics.

The real dream will always be to see the full Beatles gang but since that can’t happen, Paul’s the next best thing.

Please concert promoters – make my dream come true and bring Paul McCartney to NZ.

Check out this lovely live video of Paul McCartney playing ‘Here Today’ the song he wrote about his relationship with John Lennon after he died. 

Published by

Philippa Walker

I'm in my happy place when listening to music, at a gig or investigating the latest new artists. I've decided it's time for me to stop pestering my friends and family every time I want to rant or rave about the latest goings on in the music world so here I am. I hope you'll enjoy my Pip Squeaks.

Leave a comment